My Empire, Collapsed

woman-watching-a-ship-sailing-away-daniel-eskridge

Photo credit: Daniel Eskridge

So this is what my empire has been built upon:
A cracked foundation, that even now,
As I sign edicts to expand my domain
And further the reach of my dominion,
Crumples beneath my feet,
Leaving every effort to improve—
To expand and prosper—
Hollow and futile.
Though the season for another harvest draws near,
No crops will yield in this barren fallow,
Devoid of nutrients, inhospitable to sustenance;
And there, beyond the horizon
You bring forth your armies,
Armed with castigation and ridicule,
Tongues sharpened with prevarication,
Stinging me with baseless criticism.
Is it a wonder I flee before you
When you have uprooted me with your own hand?
So do not dare to chase me
Or hurl spears at my back
As I retreat from my kingdom to more fertile lands,
Enveloped in peace and hospitality;
Do not sneer in jealousy
When you court trade and import with another,
As though our one-sided alliance is in fair taste.
I have looked to a new horizon
And found something better,
So you can repair the foundation of the empire
I have left to collapse;
And should you fail in your endeavors,
Noble as you assure me they are,
Do not look to me to forge a new path for you;
My hammer is yours to wield no longer.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. don’t vanish we will miss your words keep writing xo

    Reply
    • Thanks! I’ll have new stuff posting soon. Been busy working on a manuscript I’m hoping to self-publish next year, but I’ve been carving out more time for personal writing lately!

      Thanks for your support!

      Reply
      • Oh well if you are working on a manuscript then ignore me! I’m so glad you are still writing! Best of luck and total support from me xo

Leave a Reply

