Mispleasantries

Sunburst

I must confess I’m under duress
From all of your mispleasantries;
Keeping me under lock and key,
Holding me tight so I can’t breathe.

Your affections, while sustaining,
Are also noxious to my brain,
Releasing a toxin that will trigger despair
And ruin everything I’ve striven to build.

I’m holding on tight to you
And the light you’ve shone on me,
But that light will only grow brighter
Until it burns me to death.

This is the most gracious rejection
I could ever conceive;
But sometimes stepping into the dark
Is the only solution.

From there I will watch you,
Keeping you as close as I can,
Not to thrive but to subsist,
And experience, on occasion, your fleeting majesty.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

