Evocation of Silence

silenced_by_jolsariella-d3few70

I struggled effusively to offer rejoinder
Without condemning myself to an oath;
To say a word you wouldn’t hold me to,
To break the constraints of your mercantilism.

A barrage of verbosity would flow
Like a deluge untamable by dams,
For they would shred concrete like paper
And all my vulnerabilities would be exposed.

This is a veracity inadmissible,
For no elegy must be recited
That would expound revelations of abhorrence
Or in any manner undermine my guise.

I quavered under the pressure you applied,
Exuding satisfaction from my social demise,
Until at last I confirmed I didn’t have to respond to you at all
And walked away soundly.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

